Reblog: Reconstruction, Revival, and Styrofoam Cake Syndrome

I wish wordpress had the option to show more than a snippet when reblogging. The whole thing is worth reading, but I especially wanted to reblog this;

“If someone invited me to meet with them and had asked others who knew me what to have ready to be sure I felt welcome, and thus gathered these things, I would be honored they’d thought of it, perhaps, but I wouldn’t mistake it for our already having a relationship.

Such gestures are the invitation to begin a relationship. The relationship itself takes interaction, listening to each other, and offering of ourselves.”

(…which I can’t format as a blockquote, for some reason.)

EmberVoices: Listening for the Vanir

Rev. Tamara L. Siuda has an excellent point in her post on Polytheist.com: Reconstruction, Revival, and Styrofoam Cake Syndrome

The Shinto poet Matsuo Basho, who also lived during a period of thoughtful, intense polytheist reconstructionism, wrote: “Do not seek to follow in the footsteps of the men of old. Seek what they sought.” When I came to my work with Kemetic Orthodoxy, despite that Basho never worshiped the same gods that I do, I took his advice to heart, and it has remained with me since. It is just as important to know the how of one’s polytheism, as it is to know the why. Rituals are important to us as polytheists, often to the exclusion of creed or belief, whether we are the polytheists of today or five thousand years ago. Going through the motions of a ritual with neither a purpose nor an understanding of the meanings of…

View original post 349 more words

Leave a Reply

