KRT: How did you get started?

It’s been a month since I wrote anything, and I feel like my blog is too quiet, so I decided to finally do a KRT prompt!

The Kemetic Round Table (KRT) is a blogging project aimed at providing practical, useful information for modern Kemetic religious practitioners. For all the entries relating to this particular topic, take a peek here.

How did you get started in Kemeticism? Tips? Stories?

Let’s start with some background. For long time, I felt like I don’t need a religion. I just wasn’t interested, so I never sought that out. I was interested in learning about energy work, though, so I went on google to find posts about that, then from there I followed links to other blogs and websites. And somewhere in there, I came across some kemetic blogs.

I wasn’t looking for religion, I was happy without it, but Kemeticism resonated with me. So I started reading more about it. I read a lot. I discovered tumblr, then came across the Kemetic Round Table. I also borrowed some books from my local library. (More on that below.)

For the first month or two, I spent time reading, asking questions, thinking about stuff. I didn’t want to get involved just yet. I have an impulsive/obsessive personality, which means that I have a tendency to find a new thing, get really into it, and then lose interest when I find the next new thing. So when it comes to big decisions, I try to wait a while and see if I still feel the same way when it’s no longer a shiny new thing.

I want to mention that it’s also okay to jump right in and try things, but for me personally, it’s better to go slow. It was also helpful for me because, when I did start calling myself Kemetic, I had a better idea of what I was doing and what I wanted out of my religion.

As far as interactions with deities, that was also something I waited with. I used to be kind of uncomfortable with the idea of deities, but I found the Netjeru to be very approachable. Finally, I invited them into my home and started giving them semi-regular offerings (usually just a cup of water). It took a long time to figure out what I want to do in that regard, what works for me and what doesn’t, and I’m still revising that.

~ ~ ~

Books! I didn’t have the energy to review the books, but these are the ones I’ve read, and would recommend all of them:

The first book I picked up was Red Land, Black Land by Barbara Mertz. This is a very good one to start with. It’s written in a very easy to understand way. It’s about Ancient Egyptian society in general.

Then there’s Egyptian Mythology: A Guide to the Gods, Goddesses, and Traditions of Ancient Egypt by Geraldine Pinch. The title pretty much sums it up.

And the last one I read was, The Future of the Ancient World: Essays on the History of Consciousness by Jeremy Naydler

Future of the Ancient World is not specifically about Egypt or Kemeticism; it talks about how various ancient cultures thought about things and how they related to the world around them. That was very interesting, and I think it’s very helpful to have an understanding of the thought processes of ancient societies, when you’re learning about ancient religions.

Jeremy Naydler and Richard Wilkinson are often recommended, so if I don’t have a specific title in mind, I’ll just look up these authors in the library catalog and see what’s available.

Not sure if I should be embarrassed that I’ve only read three books so far (it’s been almost a year), but I’ve been busy. Extensive research is certainly not required, but I do find it very helpful, so I would like to do more of that.

One thought on “KRT: How did you get started?

  1. Pingback: How did you get started? | Kemetic Round Table

Leave a Reply

